Casual Letters

Picky Reader

Hi!

I just finished Macbeth for school, thank god, and it got me thinking. Why do I have to read literal crap like that? If there any Shakespeare fanatics out there, sorry, but… why? Anyway, it was so bad. I don’t feel like it even made me a better reader either. Cause for all 100 pages I “read” over it. You know, “read”, like I payed attention for about 2 lines and then started to just say it but it lost all meaning. And sometimes I’d realize I hadn’t comprehended 5 pages of it and it’d be like waking up from a coma. Not that I know what waking up from a coma is like. If I did this blog would be WAY more interesting. So then after I read an act I’d just got on my phone and spark notes the heck out of it. So what did I really get out of Macbeth? A bunch of wasted time.

That’s why I’m a picky reader. They feed us the crappiest books at school and it makes you start to wonder why books even exist in the first place. What’s the point? So now I am very skeptical when picking out a book for pleasure. Which only happens at the beginning of summer when I want to turn over a new leaf and become an intellectual. It never really works out. But if I am picking out a book, I am quick to turn one down. Boring cover? Denied. Small font size? Denied. That weird yellowish paper? Denied. I know you’re not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but I think in the case of BOOKS you should. I don’t apply that to the rest of my life. I don’t deny a friendship just cause she’s wearing uggs. So I think its fine to judge a book by its cover. Cause hey, in my experience, books with a cover I like, I like the inside. I’m sure there are many books I haven’t read just cause they look boring are actually amazing. I’m stupid, there’s no denying it. And maybe one day I’ll gain the wisdom and start to just read all books cause all literature has value and meaning and blah blah blah. But for now I’m gonna stick to my old method.

Speaking of crap books have you guys ever read Big Fish? Horrible, horrible book. And Beowulf we had to read for school recently. I think I got stupider from reading in those viking terms. See I know I got stupider because I just said stupider. I love writing, but I’m sort of terrified to write because they always say to become good at writing you have to be good at reading. I am a CRAP reader. I can’t pay attention for more than 5 minutes and if there isn’t some love story in there, chances are I’m not interested. Also I read at the speed of a struggling 3rd grader. I don’t know how the speed readers do it. They are the real superheroes. My horrible reading skills probably account for my terrible taste in books. I’d like to think that my taste is amazing in every possible way, but I know the one area it lacks in miserably is books.

There’s my daily little rant. Sorry for all the complaining. Turns out I have this rare disease  where I can’t go 5 minutes without complaining about something totally irreverent. Sad.

Tara L.

P.S. Sorry for ending this like a Trump tweet. But it IS sad. Also turns out my disease isn’t that rare. Many people suffer from this disorder. All the people affected by it are called wimps.

 

Leave a Reply

